Awards and prizes


2022/23 Van Diemen History Prize. Winner

2022 Tasmanian Writer’s Prize, Finalist

2021 Tasmanian Writer’s Prize, Finalist

2020/21 Van Diemen History Prize. Winner

2018/19 Van Diemen History Prize. Highly Commended

Higher education

2019 Shimadzu Education Award. Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

2018 David White Award for Teaching Excellence. University of Melbourne

2020 & 2017 Award for Learning and Teaching Achievement. Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences, University of Melbourne

Scientific research

2004 Sir Paul Callaghan Medal. Australian and New Zealand Society for Magnetic Resonance

2003 Yamigawa-Yoshida Fellowship. International Union Against Cancer

1999 Russell Grimwade Research Fellowship. University of Melbourne

1990 CSR Mills Prize in Chemistry. University of Queensland